National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Museum ISSC Report

Cover Image: Tony Albert, Kieran Lawson and David C. Collins, Warakurna Superhero #1 2017

The Initial Steering Committee for the National Aboriginal Art Gallery was appointed to consider purpose and functions, principles guiding its Collection Acquisition Policy, governance and management structure, funding, including for its building and ongoing operations, staffing and physical location/s and design of the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Museum.

Importantly, the Committee also undertook consultation with key stakeholders, including Traditional Owners and the community.

The committee has now completed its term. Initial Steering committee members include:

Co-Chair, Ms Hetti Perkins (Art Curator, writer and conslutant)
Co-Chair, Mr Philip Watkins (Chief Executive Officer Desart)
Member, Emeritus Professor Helen Garnett PSM FTSE FAICD
Member, Ms Janina Harding (Artistic Director of Cairns Aboriginal Art Fair and Torres Strait Islander representative)
Member, Mr Michael Lynch CBE, AO (Chair Sydney Community Foundation; former General Manager of the Australia Council)
Member, Mr Alastair Shields (former CEO DTC)
Member, Mr Mark Wilsdon (Co-CEO Museum of Old and New Art in Hobart, TAS)

ISSC Report to the NT Government